Perry L. McCarty AEESP Founders' Award

Perry L. McCarty AEESP Founders' Award Nomination Submissions

This award is given annually to recognize the significant contributions of Professor McCarty to environmental engineering education, research, and practice and will be given to an environmental engineering or science professor who has record of excellence in these areas. The recipient of this award will receive a plaque, a cash prize of $1500, and a $750 travel allotment to attend the awards ceremony. Nomination packages should include: (1) a cover letter from the nominator; (2) full curriculum vitae for the nominee; and (3) at least two, but no more than five, additional letters of recommendation. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and may be modified during this period.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AEESP Awards Committee:

Dr. Robert Nerenberg
Associate Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
University of Notre Dame
e-mail:; Tel: 574-631-4098

CLICK HERE to submit your nomination.

Perry L. McCarty, the Silas H. Palmer Professor Emeritus of Stanford University, has transformed nearly every aspect of environmental biotechnology, and his work will continue to influence the research and teaching of AEESP members for generations to come. In education, Dr. McCarty had profound impact through his stellar classroom teaching, inspirational mentoring of PhD students, and publishing influential textbooks. He promoted good practice with his tireless service on numerous committees, expert panels, and advisory boards. Professor McCarty’s many notable honors include membership in the National Academy of Engineering, the Tyler Environmental Prize, the Clarke Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Water Science and Technology, and the Stockholm Water Prize.  He also is the recipient of several AEESP awards, including the Founders Award, four Outstanding Publication Awards, and three Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Awards.

AEESP thanks the generosity of the donors to the Perry L. McCarty Founders Award Fund and the Perry L. McCarty Founders Award Fund Steering Committee and AEESP Foundation for their efforts to endow this award.  Donations may be made by clicking on the 'Donate' link below:

Past Recipients

2017Paul L. BishopUniversity of Cincinnati
2016Bruce E. RittmannArizona State University
2015Jerald L. SchnoorUniversity of Iowa
2014John NovakVirginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
2013(No award presented) 
2012C. Robert BaillodMichigan Technological University
2011Francis A. DiGianoUniversity of North Carolina
2010Aarne VesilindBucknell University
2009James K. EdzwaldUniversity of Massachusetts
2008Clifford W. RandallVirginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
2007Philip SingerUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
2006John F. AndrewsRice University
2005Richard E. SpeeceVanderbilt University
2004Paul RobertsStanford University
2003C.P. Leslie Grady Jr.Clemson University
2002Thomas M. KeinathClemson University
2001John L. CleasbyIowa State University
2000Walter J. Weber, Jr.University of Michigan
1999Vernon L. SnoeyinkUniversity of Illinois
1998Richard I. DickCornell University
1997Linvil G. RichClemson University
1996Earnest F. GloynaUniversity of Texas at Austin
1995Charles R. O'MeliaJohns Hopkins University
1994Daniel A. OkunUniversity of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
1993Richard EngelbrechtUniversity of Illinois
1992Perry L. McCartyStanford University
1991E. Robert BaumannIowa State University