AEESP Award for Outstanding Contribution to Environmental Engineering & Science Education

This award is given annually to recognize excellence in teaching scholarship and/or professional society educational initiatives, as defined by the criteria below. A cash award of $500 is presented to the recipient. Previous winners are ineligible for this award.

Nomination packages may consider any or all of the following:

  • Development or authorship of educational or instructional material or a text that enhances the student learning process;
  • Demonstrate effectiveness in course and/or curriculum development;
  • Development of educational facilities;
  • Publication of original work, through peer-reviewed publications and/or presentations at professional meetings, that enhances the engineering education process or adds value to teaching methodology literature;
  • Service as a mentor to other teaching faculty or participation in the development and delivery of seminars and workshops focused on improvements to teacher classroom effectiveness;
  • Administration of engineering colleges or departments that has led to substantial and recognized improvements in the art of engineering education; and/or
  • A strong record of activity in the educational activities of AEESP or another professional society.

Nomination packages should include: (1) a brief cover letter from the nominator; (2) brief curriculum vitae (4-page maximum) for the nominee, (3) documentation related directly to the award criteria consisting of no more than 30 pages, (4) one (minimum) to four (maximum) letters of recommendation from faculty, administrator, current or past students, or industry peers. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during this period. This award is open to nomination at any rank.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AEESP Awards Committee:
Dr. Robert Nerenberg
Associate Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
University of Notre Dame
e-mail:; Tel: 574-631-4098

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Institution
2016 1) Yanna Lambrinidou Virginia Tech
2016 2) Marc A. Edwards Virginia Tech
2015 1) Mark M. Benjamin University of Washington
2015 2) Desmond F. Lawler University of Texas at Austin
2014 Maya Trotz University of South Florida
2011 Linda Phillips University of South Florida
2010 David Vaccari Stevens Institute of Technology
2008 David A. Sabatini University of Oklahoma
2006 Cliff Davidson Carnegie Mellon University
2004 Daniel B. Oerther University of Cincinnati
2003 Michael J. Semmens University of Minnesota
2002 James R. Mihelcic Michigan Technological University
2001 Susan J. Masten Michigan State University
2000 Steven C. Chapra Tufts University