Steven K. Dentel AEESP Award for Global Outreach

Steven K. Dentel AEESP Award for Global Outreach Nomination Submissions

This award is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions and leadership by a faculty member through involvement in environmental engineering and science outreach activities to the global community. Outreach activities that advance the health and well-being of the global community through environmental education, research, entrepreneurship, international collaborations, program development, contributions to trans-national environmental efforts, mentoring students engaged in global outreach activities, or similar impacts, will be considered. The recipient of this award will receive a cash award of $1,500 and a plaque in honor of his/her achievements.

Nomination packages should include: (1) a nomination letter that also includes a citation of no more than 100 words describing the nominee’s contributions, (2) a copy of the applicants CV, and (3) at least two and up to five letters of support by faculty, students or outreach collaborators. Past nominations will be carried over and considered for three years and can be modified during this period. Nominations from students are eligible for consideration.

Professor Steven K. Dentel was a Professor of 30 years at the University of Delaware in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. He obtained Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in environmental engineering from Cornell University and a Sc.B. in mechanical engineering from Brown University. He was an active member of AEESP since 1984 until 2015. He served as Secretary of the AEESP Board of Directors from 2011 to 2012 and as Secretary of the AEESP Foundation Board of Directors from 2012 to 2013. Professor Dentel has been the faculty advisor of the University of Delaware's Engineer's Without Borders chapter since 2006.  In this role and through his various activities, he was an exemplary model and has set the standard for what global outreach leadership means to the AEESP community. This award is intended to recognize faculty leaders who, like Professor Dentel, have demonstrated continued and sustained service to our profession and dedication to global outreach.

See President John Tobiason's message to the membership announcing Dr. Dentel's passing on February 18, 2015.

The AEESP Foundation graciously thanks you for your generous donation towards endowing this award:

CLICK HERE to submit your nomination.

Past Recipients

2017Francis de los Reyes IIINorth Carolina State University
2016David A. SabatiniUniversity of Oklahoma
2015Daniel B. OertherMissouri University of Science and Technology
2014Steve DentelUniversity of Delaware